The Deal

It wasn’t a normal day, I had had enough.
If my eyes shifted just an arc more, my own breath I would have snuffed.
The world had jumped in the toilet with its bleeding hand reaching for the flush.
Thoughts were pouring through me like shoppers on a sale spree, I just couldn’t handle the rush.
My brain screaming for help, blood boiling thorough the skull window, with my final gasp I called,
“Hear me, the Greatest Dealer ever, I think I’ve seen it all! ”

 

He appeared just before I almost scalped myself, and asked me, “You must know the rules”
I screached, “I know you’ll take my soul, don’t think me to be a fool!”
The things I have seen has hollowed me beyond dreams, to find my spirit bring a special tool! ”
” Before I wrap up my worthless being, it’s time I show others that they are too! ”
” You’ll get what you want”, he said, “Just turn right, I’ll call you in a week or two”

 

I turned right and started typing on my laptop, I didn’t notice when he disappeared.
With the perfect cadence, I filled words in virtual pages, words that no one write out of fear.
Hunger and pain went down the drain as sleep took a backstage.
Soon my letters shook the world, the lowlifes came to know about my rage.
I wrote about the blindfold of flags, the man made tags and the children with vacant pots.
Some readers applauded, some ranted in denial, some even took a few shots.
The seven sins, the shameless grins, the fading greens sulked in fertile minds,
Soon my phone started to ring ceaseless, maybe in a failed attempt to rewind.

 

Exhaustion faced extinction as my fingers won’t tire, the Dealer’s spell was top notch.
It has caused a bullet, a jackhammer, even a wrecking ball’s plan to stop me, botch.
A decad of days had passed, maybe I toppled some useless regime, they didn’t matter anymore.
I kept typing till a chilling voice screamed, “Your time’s up child, you’ll write no more!”

 

My shaking flesh carapace obeyed the cold command as my fingers came to a halt.
“It’s me!”, I exclaimed, “How did I commit this? I am at a treacherous fault!”
“You got it late, son!”, the voice mumbled, “Your soul was in your words!”
“And now I leave your side after a fortnight, with your spirit, as per our accord.
I never left your side you see, I just waited to find your flair.
I must hurry to my next victim who doesn’t recognize his soul, goodbye, I’m out of your hair”

Leave a comment